Best Speller Award

A Gold Medal, $5, founded by Felix W. Capt of San Marcos, in 1886, will be awarded to the best speller in the College.

Awarded to –

1887Miss Laura Lyleof Hood County
1888Jno. A. Lomaxof Bosque County
1889Miss Annie Smithof Hood County
1890Not awarded

To be continued by Frank Gaston as the “Granbury News Medal.”

Awarded to –

1892George Tarrantof Hood County
1897Miss Vera Austinof Channing[Hartley County]
1898James L. Wohlfordof Hood County
1899Albert Loganof Hill County
1900Sam’l L. Smithof Hood County